Quick Fire Review: The Wolf of Wall Street

Wolf-of-Wall-Street-Header1

Who is in it?

Leonardo DiCaprio leads, Jonah Hill showing us his versatility, Matthew McConaughey, Margot Robbie, Jean Dujardin, Joanna Lumley.

What is it about?

Based on the true story of Jordan Belfort, the film follows Belfort from humble beginnings selling penny shares to his rise to a wealthy stockbroker living the high life. To say Belfort lives life in the fast lane is somewhat an understatement. He takes us with him on a non-stop debauched orgy of alcohol, drugs and sex which leads ultimately to his fall at the hands of the FBI.

Why did I want to watch it?

Two reasons, Leonardo DiCaprio and Martin Scorsese. If you’ve read my post from May 2013 “Why doesn’t Leonardo DiCaprio have an Oscar” you’ll know that LDC is my all-time favourite actor and I was excited to see him in what I think is his best shot yet at Oscar glory. Scorsese is a fabulous auteur and so I assumed Wolf had to be an excellent product of such great talents.

Did I like it?

Yes. Not as much as I wanted to, admittedly, but I enjoyed the film and I was entertained for the whole of the 3 hours of the film’s duration. I laughed much more than I had expected to and Leonardo was fabulous in the leading role – portraying Belfort as a charismatic, greedy self-serving slime ball. The sort of character that you love to hate. To be fair, it could have lost some of the drugs or sex scenes though and overuse of the “f word” became a little much – there’s more than 500 uses apparently!

Should you watch it?

Watch it if you love Scorsese, definitely watch it if you love Leo, watch if you are…. a lad?!? It’s a proper lads film and the cinema I went to watch it in was absolutely packed with groups of men!

Other films it reminds me of:

Goodfellas, or other films about money men – Wall Street (of course), Trading Places, Rogue Trader.

Watch this instead/as well/before/after:

Any other Scorsese or Leonardo offering, why not The Departed?
LB

2 thoughts on “Quick Fire Review: The Wolf of Wall Street

  1. Wolf of Wallstreet is a 3 hour sausage and sexist feast made for teenage and early 20’s frat boys or males who are at that level of immaturity. They deliberately bribed the MPAA to bring the rating down from NC-17 to R so all the 15 year old boys can see the film, glorify it and repeat lines from it. Big whoop that a woman in her 70’s wouldn’t enjoy it. It’s not made for most women regardless of their age nor for mature men. The women in the film are nothing but props and sex objects. If this movie had Michael Bay’s name as the director (same exact movie) no high minded critics would be defending it as though it’s high art. It’s brainless teenage boy entertainment.

    • Thanks for sharing your opinion.

      I have to say I had a fair few issues with it myself. I found it overlong and not Scorcese’s finest work by a long way. I think the story is not my cup of tea, but it is still miles more subtle than anything Michael Bay could produce. The women are not fully realised, although it does at least acknowledge there were female traders, the world is so amoral that it does not do any characters any favours. All in all, I wasn’t a huge fan, but I don’t feel as strongly that it is completely devoid of cinematic merit.

      ELC

Leave a Reply

