Quick Fire Review: About Time

About-Time-UK-Quad-Poster-585x443

Here’s the trailer

Who is in it?

Domhnall “the Dragon expert Weasley” Gleeson, Rachel McAdams and Curtis veteran, Bill Nighy.

What is it about?

When he turns 21, Tim is told by his father that he has the ability, like the other men in the family, to travel in time. Tim decides to use this skill to sort out his life. His first aim? Get a girlfriend. Tim soon finds out that although he has used his powers to meet the beautiful Mary, time travel can’t save him from the stresses, sorrows and traumas of life that we all have to endure.

Why did I want to watch it?

It’s a Richard Curtis and although it has divided the critics like Marmite, I was looking forward to the big cuddle of optimism and escapism that his films usually provide. Love Actually is one of my all-time favourite films and I wanted a to see a feel-good film to kick start my cosy Autumn viewing.

Did I like it?

I wasn’t disappointed. Admittedly, it wasn’t my favourite Curtis offering and there were plot issues if you chose to think too carefully about it, but… I got exactly what I had wanted from the film. I liked the characters, I felt with and for them and I laughed and cried in all the right places. It was likeable and I escaped with the characters to their world. I was glad I had decided not to wear mascara. More profoundly, my first thought on leaving the cinema was that I should really give my Dad a call. I am now a teeny tiny bit in love with Domhnall Gleeson – and I didn’t say that when he was a Weasley!

Should you watch it?

Yes, if you are a Curtis fan and you are prepared to go with a film for pure escapism without picking the plot apart and questioning its plausibility. If, unlike some of its harshest critics, you aren’t bothered by the middle-class bubble by the sea which Curtis often portrays, it will be an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon at your local multi.

Other films it reminds me of

See Curtis’ back catalogue…. and that’s not a bad thing!

Watch this instead/as well/before/after

Again, it’s just a Curtis through and through. See it and then see Love Actually again to see Curtis at his absolute best!

LB

One thought on “Quick Fire Review: About Time

Leave a Reply

