Quick Fire Review: Only God Forgives

OGFHere’s The Trailer

Who is in it?

Ryan Gosling, Kristin Scott Thomas, Vithaya Pansringarm

What is it about?  A man does a very very  bad thing in Bangkok.  Which leads to retribution.  Which leads to some very disturbing retribution.

Why did I want to watch it? To be honest I was unsure.  I loved Drive but had heard this was even more violent.  Also Kristin Scott Thomas has reportedly made some comments about the finished film that gave me pause.  But at the end of the day the re-teaming of Gosling and his Drive director, Nicolas Winding Refn, won the day.

Did I like it?

Um.  It looked brilliant.  It was very engaging, but sooo bleak and yes there were some moments – not just the violence, that made me pretty uncomfortable.  If any guy considers this a good date movie – I would suggest they get a very good therapist.

Should you watch it?

How much you love Drive is an important factor.  The performances are wonderful and the look is pure genius, but this will lower the mood of even the most chipper cinephile.  If you love awesome fight scenes the one between Vithaya Pansringarm & Ryan Gosling is EPIC.  In fact Pansringarm’s character is one of the most Kick Ass (I’ll link this to my Kick Ass 2 review shortly) I have seen on screen.

Other films it reminds me of:

Old Boy and the Chan-Wook Park Vengeance Trilogy.

Watch this instead/as well/before/after:

Watch some Disney after.  But not Dumbo.

ELC

Leave a Reply

