Quick Fire Review: Moonrise Kingdom

Here’s The Trailermoonrise-kingdom-international-poster-441x600

Who is in it?

Wes Anderson regulars Bill Murray, Jason Swartzman. Also Bruce Willis, Frances McDormand, Tilda Swinton, Bob Balaban, Edward Norton and a lot of kids.  And Harvey Keitel. No shit.

In short – awesome cast.

What is it about?

An out of place kid with wilderness skills runs away and his scout troupe and a local cop (Bruce Willis!) try and bring him home.

Why did I want to watch it?

A combination of being frustrated that I missed it when it was Oscar nominated (for Best Original Screenplay)  and at the cinema and curiosity to see what Wes Anderson has whipped up after hearing positive reviews.  Usually I like his stuff but I am not a devotee.

Did I like it?

A lot more than expected.  Probably my favourite Wes Anderson Film (sorry Fantastic Mr Fox) and probably my favourite incarnation of Bruce Willis as a Cop.  Yippee Kay Yay you heard me!

I was expecting quirkiness but the central characters are a very likeable and even though they are quite antisocial they are also pretty endearing.  Also there is not a bum note in the entire support cast.

Should you watch it?

Definitely.  I can’t imagine why you wouldn’t like it.  It has plenty of action for an indie movie, the kids are precocious without being irritating, the cast is fabulous and the production design is sumptuous to look at .  It is quirky though, so if that really isn’t your thing then maybe not.

Other films it reminds me of:

Wes Anderson has a very distinctive look, although this didn’t remind me of his other films.  Maybe A Simple Man by the Coen Brothers – another quirky likeable film with a very odd central character.

Watch this instead/as well/before/after:  I’ll just pick a time of day, Sunday afternoon.

ELC

3 thoughts on “Quick Fire Review: Moonrise Kingdom

  1. Pingback: Moonrise Kingdom | Chewy Reviews

Leave a Reply

